RECOVERY?

10346320_10152576419384416_7484929657364165173_n.jpg

I DON’T KNOW IF A FULL RECOVERY IS EVER POSSIBLE.

I am a firm believer in changing the way you are. There a many people who believe that a leopard never changes it’s spots. However, a leopard’s spots are how it looks. It’s a physical appearance so that saying has always struck me as stupid. Behaviour can and does change. For example, how many  times have you seen or heard about someone who used to be a really nice person and then later on in life you learn they aren’t as nice as first thought? It happens. The same happens the other way around. Some people who have behaved in a negative way can change and become nicer people. Society has us believing that this is far fetched.

If I were to break my leg, I would go to hospital and have an x-ray and then have a doctor assess the damage and take appropriate action. I would have a cast, crutches and be told to take it easy for a period of time. The leg, at the break point, would be repaired but would still have that weakness in it. You see it in sportsmen and women all the time. If ligaments are torn it is always considered a weak point and they are prone to repeated injuries in the same area. They don’t fully recover. However, they learn to adapt and work within their limitations. Does the same apply to mental health?

If someone is diagnosed with a mental health illness and they follow the above procedure of going to a doctor and being assessed and treated, does their mind remain weak in that same spot? Are they then prone to further “injuries” later? It’s something I have been thinking about lately. As I have been diagnosed as bi polar, will I ever recover from this or will I just learn to work within my limitations? Do I have limitations? Now, I guess I have been bi polar most of my life but didn’t know and I got through my life until the day I was told I am bi polar. So, is this the way I will be all my life? Have I recovered over the years? Have I learned to adapt to life as bi polar? Am i more aware now that I know what I have?

These are all the questions I have in my head at the moment. It sounds muddled up but it’s an interesting subject. We are incredible as people. We manage to have this vast depth of resolve. We adapt and we carry on. Is this what I am doing? Will there be a point where I look back and say: “I am no longer bi polar?”

Until next time.

 

JD x

 

 

N.B – This is a disclaimer. I have had a blog used against me in the past in a dispute with a person of little intelligence. This blog is intended to help, support and promote the awareness of people dealing with mental health problems. It documents my own journey and offers an insight into life with mental health problems. The stigma attached to mental health exists because of people using whatever they can find to harm or hurt people. From post-natal depression to schizophrenia – we need to stop discriminating and embrace people.

JD

2 thoughts on “RECOVERY?

Have your say.